Heroes and villains

What superhero would you like to be for one day? That’s such a difficult question for a woman. We have to choose a proper hero in a men’s world, cause how many cool heroines can you name? Black Widow, Scarlet Witch, Captain Marvel, Supergirl, Black Canary… on the other hand how many male superheroes do you know? Let me answer the question for you: A HUNDRED MORE!

Is it fair for girls not to have more superheroines role models? Are comic books a male chauvinist universe? I think so, even thought we have taken big steps and nowadays the comic world is learning know how to include girls in their narratives.

Let’s go back to the topic, at this stage I would choose to be a villain. As Bette David said ‘villains always have the best-written parts’ and who am I gonna lie I always wanted to play the villains! To my mind they’re the best part of a story. The hero is defined by the villain, his or her greatness is measured on the villain capacity to put him/her into troubles. If the bad guy, or girl, is truly evil, powerful an witty enough a great story is about to be told. My favourite villains are from Nordic tradition: Hela and Loki of Asgard. For those who are not huge fans of comic books or Marvel, they’re Thor’s, Chris Hemsworth, siblings. But if I have to choose just one I’d opt for Loki, he reminds me of the old-kind bad guys: intelligent, elegant and able to do anything to destroy his opponent. But for the fact he’s a traitor and tries to kill the hero several times you may think he’s the truly main character of the story.

As the actor who portrays Loki, Tom Hiddleston, once said: ‘Every villain is a hero in his own mind’.

While my ‘researching’ (watching movies) for this article of girls with special powers I came across with Mystique from the X-Men (yes X-MEN to top it all…). Mystique has the power to turn herself into anyone else. She has an extraordinary strength, both physically and mentally. Her genes are unbelievably evolved and she keeps young no matter how old she is. Mystique started being a hero who later turned into a villain but if I have the chance to be her for 24 hours I wouldn’t turn down the proposition. At least I was able to find one female character who is complicated, has an interesting story behind and is as strong as a man. Hurray for Mystique!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.